The Magic comic number 1

Talk here about just about anything associated with British comics or story papers and the industry that does not fit in any other forum.
There are separate fora open to registered members for discussing specific comics, artists, websites etc.

Moderators: Al, AndyB

newcollector

The Magic comic number 1

Post by newcollector »

Hello, My name is Thomas and i'm quite new to the comic collecting world. I mostly collect wartime Dandy and Beano comics but some time ago I purchased what I think is number one of the Magic comic from July 1939. The spine is glued and the pages have yellowed with age. Someone has also written 'number 1' in pencil to the front. Is this an original or a later repro?

koollectablz

Re: The Magic comic number 1

Post by koollectablz »

Looks original to me from those pics, but I'd have to see it in hand to be certain.

Rare comic.

newcollector

Post by newcollector »

Thank you for your reply, looking at it it certainly has the smell and feel of old paper and visible wear/ yellowing to the edges through handling. The only thing that worried me is that some of the colours just slightly go over the lines whilst others are very clean and perfect, would that be down to the printing of the period?
otherwise it looks to be printed on newspaper type paper with glued spine

Phoenix
Guru

Post by Phoenix »

newcollector wrote:Is this an original or a later repro?
Because of the overall browning I have to agree with koolectablz. There is no doubt in my mind that that is an original that has aged naturally. I have a modern reprint in my collection, the pages of which are white. If memory serves, which it doesn't always, I bought it in the late seventies/early eighties from the Vintage Magazine Shop in Brewer Street in Soho.