I was a Photo Love story girl, admits Bruce

Discuss all the girls comics that have appeared over the years. Excellent titles like Bunty, Misty, Spellbound, Tammy and June, amongst many others, can all be remembered here.

Moderator: AndyB

Steve Bright

Post by Steve Bright »

Erm, yes...round about the same time I appeared in Blue Jeans photo story as a biker. I was a DC Thomson sub editor at the time, and they used to trawl the offices for cheap 'models' back then.

What can I say - I was very young, naive and needed the money...all 8 quid of it. Thankfully I had a full face helmet on throughout most of the story.
Wake up, smell the coffee, put on some toast...

http://www.stevebrightcartoons.co.uk

ISPYSHHHGUY

Post by ISPYSHHHGUY »

I seem to remember reading an article in which a pre-stardom GEORGE MICHAEL appeared in one of these photo-strips [It looked like a 'JACKIE' job]......and it certainly looked like him [isn't 'WHAM!' yet another weekly publication connection?].

At risk of sounding pretentious,this photos-with-word-balloons is dubbed 'fumetti', and a pre-PYTHON TERRY GILLIAM [a fine cartoonist in his own right] worked on HARVEY KURTZMAN mag ''HELP!' in the late '60s, one item featuring yet another pre-stardom fave, JOHN CLEESE, in one 'fumetti' set.............seems quite a stepping-stone to fame............

Kashgar
Guru

Post by Kashgar »

The same may be said of knitting patterns if you count Noel Edmonds as famous. Only kidding, I actually rather enjoyed Noel in his pre Crinkley Bottom, Deal or No Deal days and still have fond memories of his Sunday morning radio show, in particular the edition in which he had first dibs on playing John Lennon's album 'Imagine'.

philcom55

Re: I was a Photo Love story girl, admits Bruce

Post by philcom55 »