Commando art

Pocket-sized war 'comic' that has been around since 1961 and is still going strong.

Moderator: AndyB

Sage the Owl

Commando art

Post by Sage the Owl »

Hi all, newbie here with my first post.
Its a question for Commando CO when he next visits these pages.
With the discovery a few years ago of a cache of original art from the IPC war comics I have been wondering what is the situation with regard to all the Commando art produced over the years ?
I know that a lot of cover artwork is being scanned and posted on the official Commando sight and you can buy a few prints of same so a lot ,if not all still exists in the DC Thompson archives.
Is this original art used when the reprints are published or is the book produced by some other means ?
Is it the intention to hold all the available art electronically to facillitate future publishing and if so what will then happen to the originals ?, it must be costly storing all that paper, I have visions of an "Indianna Jones" type warehouse stacked to the roof with Ian Kennedy covers.
Apologies to bombard you with so many questions but I'm a big fan of british comic art and I would hate to read one day that there had been an accident & it was lost for ever.

colcool007
Mr Valeera

Re: Commando art

Post by colcool007 »

STO, from my visit, I believe that you are not too far off the mark with the idea of an Indiana Jones style storage area. This is how Commando, Victor, Warlord et al were able to use reprints to beef out their usual weekly/monthly output from the closer storage area of the two.

I believe that DCT still has all the original artwork dating back to their first foray into magazines so that if you ask nicely, you may even be able to get the first painted cover of the People's Friend or even a rather nice copy of the original artwork for the first pages of Wizard and Adventure.